Photo Credit Cath Wallker


The Official Site Of


Katherine V. Forrest


| Home | Herstory | Books | What's New | Appearances | eBooks | Contact | Links |

The Kate Delafield Mystery Series

Hancock Park (2004)

Sleeping Bones (1999)

Apparition Alley (1997)

Liberty Square (1996)

Murder by Tradition (1991)

The Beverly Malibu (1989)

Murder at the Nightwood Bar (1987)

Amateur City (1984)


Novels of Romance / Drama

Flashpoint (1994)

An Emergency of Green (1988)

Curious Wine (1983)



Daughters of an Emerald Dusk (2005)

Daughters of an Amber Noon (2002)

Daughters of a Coral Dawn (1984)


Short Stories

Dreams and Swords (1988)


Anthologies Edited

Love, Castro Street: Reflections of San Francisco (2007)

Lesbian Pulp Fiction: The Sexually Intrepid World or Lesbian Paperback Novels 1950 - 1965 (2005)

Women of Mystery (2005)

All in the Seasoning: and Other Holiday Stories (2004)







Katherine is the author of the most popular lesbian novel of all time!

Curious Wine

An Enduring Classic



Curious Wine

The intimacy of a cabin at Lake Tahoe provides the combustible setting that brings Diana Holland and Lane Christianson together in this passionate novel of first discovery. Candid in its eroticism, intensely romantic, and remarkably beautiful, "Curious Wine" is a love story that will remain in your memory.


Katherine's most popular books:

Daughters of a Coral Dawn

Katherine Forrest's bestselling Daughters of a Coral Dawn first appeared in 1984 and became an instant classic. Through seven printings, including the 10th anniversary edition published in 1994, this story of women creating their own world after escaping an oppressive society has continued to gain fans and influence writers for 18 years.

An Emergence of Green

New to the Los Angeles area, leading a nomadic life of comfort and privilege, Paul and Carolyn Blake are an American success story. Paul is a self-made man who has overcome hardship to achieve a successful business career. Carolyn is the perfect young wife who has made him the envy of other men.

Then Val Hunter and her ten-year-old son move in next door. An artist just coming into her own, she is a startling and unconventional woman on all counts: physically imposing, and with a burgeoning independence of spirit--and a sexuality that breaks through in her passion for Carolyn.


Paul Blake knows a threat when he sees one, and he knows immediately that Val is exceedingly dangerous. She will expose Carolyn to values that will challenge what Carolyn has accepted and taken for granted. He must fight to retain possession of his wife, and fight he will.


An Emergence of Green is a timeless novel of no-holds-barred combat between a man and a woman for the body and soul of the woman they both covet.

Murder at the Nightwood Bar, from the Kate Delafied Mystery Series

When Katherine V. Forrest's Amateur City was published in 1984, introducing LAPD detective Kate Delafield, it not only marked the beginning of one of mystery fiction's most successful series, it also created one of the most lucrative genres in gay publishing: the lesbian mystery. With her next six Kate Delafield novels, Forrest's complex and determined lesbian detective became the most celebrated figure in lesbian fiction. Alyson is proud to present the first and second Kate Delafield mysteries, back in print and ready to captivate a new generation of fans!


In Murder at the Nightwood Bar, Kate investigates the murder of a homeless 19-year-old addict-prostitute, whose battered body is found outside a popular lesbian bar.


In addition to penning the legendary Kate Delafield mystery series, -Katherine V. Forrest has written the lesbian romantic classic Curious Wine and the science fiction novels Daughters of a Coral Dawn and Daughters of an Amber Noon. She lives in San Francisco.




New Release!

**Click on the image for more details!**


Katherine has won a

Lambda Literary Award

for Best Lesbian Mystery

for High Desert!






The Kate Delafield series has been re-released by Spinsters Ink. To find out more information, just click on the cover.










Also re-released:



Karin Kallmaker, Katherine and Ellen Hart solve a "murder" at the GCLS conference in Phoenix, 2005


Sister Writers -- Ellen Hart, Katherine, and Lee Lynch

Phoenix, 2005 by: Karin Kallmaker


Katherine with her GCLS 2008 Trailblazer Award


| Home | Herstory | Books | What's New | Appearances | eBooks | Contact | Links |

Copyright © Katherine V. Forrest, 2010

Contact Webmaster